Welcome Guest [Log In] [Register]

From Aug 2006 - Nov 2013 WeDig provided a live forum for diggers & fans of Vindolanda. It has now been mothballed and will be maintained as a live archive.

Here you will find preserved 7 years of conversation, photos, & knowledge about a site many people love. Vindolanda gets under the skin. (Figuratively and literally as a volunteer excavator!) It's a place you remember, filled with people you remember!

Thanks for 7 great years!

Welcome to We Dig Vindolanda!

Username:   Password:
Add Reply
  • Pages:
What to bring?; questions from a complete noob
Topic Started: Feb 10 2012, 08:48 AM (1,251 Views)
Claire_M
Member Avatar
[ *  * ]
Hullo

It's my first year going to Vindolanda/doing anything archaeology-related and I'm ridiculously excited. I also have no wellies.

So...bearing in mind suncream, layers, light waterproofs and comfy clothes...what sort of kit should I bring? Is there any point in forking out for 'better' wellies (ie how sturdy do I need them). Have beetled through some past threads and seen mentions of gardening/digging gloves - are these worthwhile?

Shall be travelling by self and public transport so the lighter load I've to carry, the better :D

(Did I mention I'm excited by the whole prospect?)
Offline Profile Quote Post Goto Top

katesf
Member Avatar
[ *  * ]
Hi Claire,

I think that wellies (sturdy ones) might be an essential item this year since we will be working in some very wet parts of the site. They are definitely essential for digging in big military ditches. Having said that the exact footwear needed does depend very much on the weather and the area that you end up working in. My advice would be to keep an eye on updates here as to what people are doing from week to week and ask the question again nearer the time to when you are due to excavate.